Governmental Accounting Standards Advisory Council

2016 Membership

The Governmental Accounting Standards Advisory Council (GASAC) is responsible for consulting with the GASB on technical issues on the Board's agenda, project priorities, matters likely to require the attention of the GASB, selection and organization of task forces, and such other matters as may be requested by the GASB or its chairman. The Council has more than 25 members who are broadly representative of preparers, attestors, and users of financial information.

Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA)
(GASAC Chair)

Mr. Robert W. Scott
Director, Finance
City of Brookfield, WI

American Accounting Association (AAA)
(GASAC Vice Chair)

Ms. Jacqueline L. Reck
Professor of Accounting
School of Accountancy
University of South Florida

American Institute of CPAs (AICPA)

Mr. James Lanzarotta
Moss Adams

American Public Power Association (APPA)

Ms. Sandra Moorman
Director of Accounting and Controller
Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Association for Budgeting and Financial Management (ABFM)

Mr. Daniel Smith
Associate Professor of Public Budgeting and Financial Management
Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
New York University

Association of Financial Guaranty Insurers (AFGI)


Association of Government Accountants (AGA)

Mr. Lealan Miller
Director, Government Services
Eide Bailly

Association of Local Government Auditors (ALGA)

Ms. Amanda Noble
Deputy City Auditor
City of Atlanta, GA

Association of School Business Officials International (ASBOI)

Mr. Mark Pepera
Chief Financial Officer
Westlake City School District, OH

Bond Rater

Ms. Teri F. Wenck
Director, Public Finance Group

Council of State Governments (CSG)


Governmental Research Association (GRA)

Mr. Joseph Stefko
President and Chief Executive Officer
Center for Governmental Research

Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA)

Mr. Brian Green
Partner, Healthcare Audit and Reimbursement Services
Seim Johnson

Insurance Industry Investors

Mr. Robert M. Reardon
Senior Investment Officer
State Farm Insurance Company

International City/County Management Association (ICMA)

Ms. Shirley D. Hughes
Director of Finance
City of Boulder City, NV

Investment Company Institute (ICI)

Mr. Gerard Lian
Senior Analyst, Fixed Income Team

National Association of Bond Lawyers (NABL)

Mr. Wayne Gerhold
Law Offices of Wayne D. Gerhold

National Association of College & University Business Officers (NACUBO)

Mr. Charles A. Tegen
Associate Vice President for Finance
Clemson University

National Association of Counties (NACo)

Mr. Glen Whitley
County Judge
Tarrant County, TX

National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers & Treasurers (NASACT)

Mr. Alan Skelton
State Accounting Officer
State of Georgia

National Association of State Budget Officers (NASBO)

Mr. James R. Wells
Director, Governor's Finance Office
State of Nevada

National Association of State Retirement Administrators (NASRA)

Mr. Robert A. Wylie
Executive Director and Administrator
South Dakota Retirement System

National Association of State Treasurers (NAST) Mr. David H. Lillard, Jr.
State Treasurer
State of Tennessee

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)

Mr. Stephen Klein
Chief Fiscal Officer, Legislative Joint Fiscal Office
State of Vermont

National Federation of Municipal Analysts (NFMA)

Mr. Gilbert L. Southwell III
Vice President and Senior Municipal Analyst
Wells Capital Management

National Governors Association (NGA)

Mr. Benjamin Barnes
Office of Policy and Management
State of Connecticut

National League of Cities (NLC)


Native American Finance Officers Association (NAFOA)

Ms. Tasha Repp
Business Assurance Partner, Tribal Services Group
Moss Adams

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA)

Mr. Richard Larkin
Director of Municipal Credit Analysis
Stoever Glass & Company, Inc.

U.S. Census Bureau

Ms. Demetria Hanna
Branch Chief, Economic Statistical Methods Division
U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Conference of Mayors

Mr. Perry James
Chief Financial Officer
City of Raleigh, NC

Official Observer

Mr. Robert Dacey
Chief Accountant
Representing the Comptroller General of the United States
Government Accountability Office